Day 429: Tim Hortons hears a who?

Timmies run!

Timmies run!

I have a confession to make. I don’t actually like Tim Horton’s coffee. Before you seize my Canadian passport, hear me out!

I have given it a chance and I do realize I’m in the minority, as evidenced by the winding drive-through lineups at every Timmies around the city.

If I’m desperate for caffeine, however, Timmies establishments are warm, welcoming places and oh-so-handy. On one such visit today, I donated to their collection for The Tim Horton Children’s Foundation.

When I got back to work and checked out the foundation online, I discovered that the Tim Horton’s home page actually has a “Community & Goodwill” tab. How nice is that?! Here’s what I found out:

TimmiesFoundationLogoFoundation factoids

  • The Tim Horton Children’s Foundation was established in 1974 by Ron Joyce, Co-Founder of the Tim Hortons chain, to honour Tim Horton’s love for children and his desire to help those less fortunate.
  • It’s a non-profit, charitable organization committed to providing a fun-filled camp environment for thousands of children from economically disadvantaged homes.
  • The Tim Horton Children’s Foundation camp experience is designed to give children confidence in their abilities … as they succeed in attaining their goals, and they gain a positive view of this world and their future in it.
  • This year the Foundation will serve close to 14,000 children from economically disadvantaged homes.

Good deeds, indeed.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 429: Tim Hortons hears a who?

  1. just marly

    ToFan!!!

    I don’t like Tim Hortons either…maybe that is why I don’t have a valid Canadian passport!!! give me Starbucks baby anyday:):):)

    Haven’t visited your blog in forever but am amazed that you are still going strong! Good on you!!!
    Though I know who you inspiration is…so we could be inspired forever!!

  2. Thanks, just marly! Glad to know I’m not the only non-Timmies fan out there (I’m a Second Cup girl myself, lol).

Leave a Reply

