Day 430: Do quote me

Another great way to start the day!

Another great way to start the day!

I started off the day most pleasantly with the sound of someone calling my name underground (in the subway station, that is). It was a dear friend who I am also very fortunate to work with.

She spotted me up ahead among the commuters and called out to me, thinking we could walk into work together. She goes the underground tunnel route (it’s not as creepy as it sounds — the basement-level food court is where she gets her coffee). I usually go above ground, but tagged along so we could chat.

And then bingo. I remembered it was Wednesday. I don’t know if you recall what happened to me last Wednesday, but that was the day my Outreach Connection connection, Mr. Singh, handed me the extra paper he’d saved for me the week I was on vacation. (I still get verklempt just thinking about it. *sniff*)

Anyway, luckily this friend is a true friend (and reads my blog!) and knew exactly who I was talking about when I explained we’d have to part ways so I could buy my paper from Mr. Singh.

And sure enough, there he was, paper in hand, as I mounted the subway steps … another nice way to start the day.

And his Notable Quotable for today?

“Experience is that marvelous thing that enables you to recognize a mistake when you make it again.”

Franklin P. Jones

Other notable quotes I found of Mr. Jones’, who was both publisher and editor of American Mechanics Magazine in the 1820s.

  • Love doesn’t make the world go ’round. Love is what makes the ride worthwhile.
  • Originality is the art of concealing your source.
  • The most efficient labor-saving device is still money.
  • It’s a strange world of language in which skating on thin ice can get you into hot water.
  • Nothing changes your opinion of a friend so surely as success – yours or his. P.S. The digitally remastered collection of The Beatles was released today. Here’s one of my favourites. Enjoy!
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 430: Do quote me

  1. And now I’m verklempt!

    ox,
    OWW

Leave a Reply

