Day 435: Golden and beholden

This sort of, kind of, almost could be my neighbour and his missus back in ’59.

This sort of, kind of, almost could be my neighbour and his missus back in ’59.

I watered my neighbour’s garden today. And I felt quite pleased with myself because, as I’ve probably mentioned, he usually waters his own and mine before I can rush outside and grab the hose.

I was surprised, actually, that the ground was dry and cracked around his geraniums and the white-fluffy-plants-that-I-should- know-the-name-of-but-I-don’t. But I took advantage of the opportunity to do a good deed for him for a change.

Then I heard from a friend down the block the reason for the dry soil … my neighbour had fallen off a ladder fixing something at her apartment building and had broken his foot.

Turns out, this happened mere hours before a surprise party celebrating my neighbour and his wife’s 50th wedding anniversary.

Not wanting to complain about the pain, he apparently attended the party without a word to anyone about what had happened. The next morning, his foot was so swollen, his wife immediately took him to the hospital and he’ll need surgery to repair the fracture.

I think I have a lot of watering … and other deeds … to do to catch up to this guy!

P.S. A lovely song for the occasion. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

