Day 437: Hangin’ with Bono in T.O.

Bono and The Edge jam in T.O. ... he even mentioned the TTC, how can I not love the guy?

Bono and The Edge jam in T.O. ... he even mentioned the TTC, how can I not love the guy?

When I started this blog last year, little did I know one of my good deeds would result in me hangin’ with Bono last night (um, when I say “hangin’,” I mean being one of the 62,000 people attending Toronto’s sold-out U2 concert last night).

A colleague was unable to use her tickets and, as payment, asked only that a donation equal to the ticket price be made to the Yonge Street Mission. It’s a wonderful organization that provides services for the city’s marginalized and poorest citizens. Services include a food bank and meal programs, employment and computer training, school readiness programs, counselling, daycare and a post-secondary Scholarship Fund.

I was more than happy to donate to such a worthwhile cause.

A young Bono ... before he grew sunglasses.

A young Bono ... before he grew sunglasses.

Hangin’ with Bono (I just love saying that)
The U2 concert itself was aptly called a “dazzling rock spectacle” by Toronto’s Globe and Mail newspaper.

From the $40-million, 90-foot tall rocketship-like set to the 54-ton cylindrical jumbo screen to the video link to the International Space Station, the show was specTACular. I’m surprised they didn’t arrange for Michael Jackson to make a surprise cameo.

There was even a video address from Desmond Tutu calling for people around the world to work together as “One” to fight extreme poverty and preventable disease in Africa. (ONE being the international advocacy organization cofounded by Bono for just that cause.)

In stark contrast to my little daily deeds, Bono’s kind efforts take effect on a grand scale – raising global awareness and millions of dollars to help others.

But we do have one thing in common – a belief that one person can make a difference. (And my dad’s Irish, so that makes 1 1/2 things….)

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 437: Hangin’ with Bono in T.O.

  1. conditioner

    Are you sure you’re not famous?! You got to hang with Bono and George Clooney this week, and I heard you have also hung with David Archuleta too, c’mon spill, who are you really!?!?!?

  2. Okay, you busted me, conditioner. Oprah here. bahahahaha

  3. Pingback: Things I hate (items one and two). | Detroit Street Press

Leave a Reply

