Day 444: Phone a friend

camera-phone-firstSometimes just getting an email or a telephone message from someone I haven’t heard from in a while can make my day.

I kept that in mind today as I called someone that I haven’t spoken with in ages. We’re not close friends but he’s someone I’d hate to lose touch with and I always get a boost from talking to him.

I ended up just getting his answering machine, so I left a message letting him know I was thinking about him.  After I read the following story (on one of my favourite sites, helpothers.org), I vowed to call more often.

Hope you enjoy it too!

90th Birthday Wishes
by tiaandlevismom

“Last year, around Labor Day, I read a ‘Happy Ad’ in our local newspaper.  There was a lady in a local nursing home, who was celebrating her 90th birthday and her family wanted everyone to know about it.  It said that if you wanted to drop her a line, here was her address.  So I did.  I found a birthday card and dropped her a short note, wishing her a happy birthday.

“A week or so later, someone knocked at my front door.  I opened the door and found a middle-aged man standing on my doorstep.  He introduced himself as the son of this woman to whom I had sent the card.  He explained that he just wanted to drop by in person and thank me for sending such a nice card to his mom.  Apparently, like many older folks, she did not receive much mail and was quite excited to receive mine.  I just didn’t know what to say.  I told him it was my pleasure and that I hoped his mom had enjoyed her birthday.

“That year, I did not send out any Christmas cards, except to this lovely old lady in the nursing home.  I just told her that I was thinking about her and hoped that she had a nice holiday.  I sent her a Valentine and also a couple of notes in between.  I just thought she might like to have someone write to her, to get some mail.

“She passed away a couple of months ago.  I never met this lady, but I did keep her and her family in my thoughts.  I dropped them a line of sympathy.  I hope that my few little notes were enough to brighten a couple of her days here on earth.”

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 444: Phone a friend

  1. refnaf

    (((((((hug))))))))

  2. conditioner

    We need more people in the world like you!
    I am inspired!

  3. Thanks, Refnaf & conditioner … your words are like big hugs, thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

