Day 453: A penny for your thoughts

Makes cents.

Makes cents.

When you see a shiny new penny on the pavement, do you feel a thrill of discovery and pick it up? Or do you simply shrug and stomp over it?

I’m in the “thrill” camp and, until recently, finding a “good luck” one-cent piece would put a spring in my step for the rest of the day.

So my good deed today was tiny by some standards … okay, all standards … but it did take a certain sacrifice on my part, believe it or not.

I’m not sure if the penny I spotted on the sidewalk at lunch hour was brand new or if it was just the way the sun hit it, but it twinkled so brightly, I literally stopped in my tracks and stared at it for a couple of seconds.

Old habits die hard I guess and I almost reflexively bent down to pick it up. But I stopped myself in time and remembered all those other kooky folks like me who would similarly smile at the sight of the little copper coin.

So, I averted my eyes, tried to ignore the magnetic pull of the metal disk and kept walking.

I hope it brought the person who did pick it up, if not good fortune, at least a penny’s worth of fun….

Did you know?

  • Australian pennies haven’t been minted since 1964.
  • The British phrase “spend a penny” is a euphemism for urinating. [Do not want to know what the phrase “spend a quarter” means!]
  • The saying “Find a penny pick it up and all the day you’ll have good luck” was originally “Find a pin…” [… not half as much fun!]
  • Penny Lane is a real street in The Beatles’ hometown of Liverpool, EnglandP.S. And here is Penny Lane. Enjoy!
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

