Day 457: Here’s lookin’ at you, kid

drinkumbrellaJust when I’d started to think that my teeny-tiny good deeds weren’t amounting to a hill of beans in this world (channeling Casablanca today, for some reason), I had two surprising reactions from strangers today that changed my mind.

On my way into work, I had occasion to hold several doors open for people along the way. One woman was carrying a tray of three or four coffees along with a large bag and when she saw that I was holding the door she broke out in a huge smile, paused before she walked through, smiled and gave me the warmest thank you.

Then, at the end of the day, a man stopped me on the steps of the subway to ask if this train would take him to Yonge station. When I told him yes, he was in the right place, he too broke out in a huge smile and thanked me.

I don’t know if those moments made a difference in their days, but they sure did in mind.

We’ll always have … an umbrella

This story in my local paper also reminded me how a little kindness goes a long way:

I was walking home on a rainy Friday after a long week at work. I had a particularly disheartening day and was quietly sobbing to myself as I made my way home in the drizzle without an umbrella.

While waiting at a crosswalk, a kind young man asked me if I was alright, to which I replied I was okay and kept on walking.

He caught up with me once we had crossed the road and gave me his umbrella, saying he would be home soon and didn’t need it.

After such a hard day, it renewed my faith in people and reminded me that the world is full of kindness. This small act turned an otherwise dreary day into a happy one. Thank you so much for making me feel better!
Jessica, Toronto

P.S. The ending of Casablanca like you’ve never seen it before. Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 457: Here’s lookin’ at you, kid

  1. refnaf

    A smile makes it all worth while!!

  2. Thanks. I was reading Pauls Epistle to Titus which focuses on deeds. Jesus redeemed us from our sinful deeds so that we might be zealous to do good deeds. We can never know all the good that comes from a simple act of love for a fellow traveler. I hope I will see the chance to do something good today. Maybe I will give my brother a call. I have been thinking about him all week as his back is hurting him terribly. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

