Day 458: All about Steve

"I can't do anything else. I can't type or run a computer, and I've been fired from jobs as a custodian, waiter, and elevator operator. Acting has always been my passion."

"I can't do anything else. I can't type or run a computer, and I've been fired from jobs as a custodian, waiter, and elevator operator. Acting has always been my passion."

I walked past Steven Weber today. He was my favourite part of the sitcom Wings (he played pilot Brian Hackett), but I kept that to myself.

In fact, I didn’t say a word to him or acknowledge that I even recognized him. My friend and I were walking along, and were in the middle of a conversation, and we continued talking as we walked past, then stopped simultaneously and gave each other the “omg, did you see who that was?” look.

We both agreed that not swarming him and invading Mr. Weber’s privacy felt like the right thing to do, so we kept walking.

And if you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ll notice I don’t restrict my respect for people’s privacy to celebrities. Heck, I feel like I’m intruding when I offer a stranger my “free coffee” coupon at my local Java Joe’s.

Part of me wondered, however, if celebrities might welcome recognition from time to time, and heartfelt admiration of their work. But my friend reminded me what a burden it must become to get recognized everywhere. With such familiar faces, they probably rarely enjoy the peace and quiet anonymity can bring — she compared it to her years growing up in a small town.

So, instead of stopping Mr. Wings on the street, I’m glad we gave him some space … maybe I’ll reach out in cyberspace instead (came across his Huffington Post “In a Sense Abroad” blog while I was trying to find a recent picture of him).

Or maybe I’ll just let him be ….

P.S. A funny “Wings” moment. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 458: All about Steve

  1. I’ve read only a couple of your posts and i am already kinda in love with you. Whoever, where ever you are.

Leave a Reply

