Day 461: Strum guys have all the luck

Do you know the way to San Jose?

Do you know the way to San Jose?

I’m so used to seeing buskers all around the city, I’ve never stopped to think what it must be like for them to set up shop on their first day.

The ones I’ve listened to, whether they’re sitting at a keyboard or strumming on an erhu, usually look oblivious to the crowds rushing by. Not so, the guy I spotted this morning.

He was setting up his guitar case outside the entrance to the subway station and looked a little nervous. Like he had stage fright. And, come to think of it, he was on a stage of sorts.

He fumbled with the clips on his case, set everything up, then started strumming the guitar hesitantly.

I was fumbling through my bag trying to find my transit pass and even though it sounded more like he was tuning his guitar than playing it, I decided to be his first “customer” (buskee?) and toss some coins in his case.

He looked me in the eye and thanked me so sincerely, I felt bad I had to leave to catch my train to work without actually hear him play.

If things go well for him on Day 1, I guess there’s always tomorrow….

P.S. Gee, you’ll never guess what song I’ve chosen!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

