Day 485: Winners circle

Teddy Bear Coat: No, not available at Winners ... yet.

Good luck finding a free plastic bag these days, folks. In a valiant effort to rid the Earth of these eco-unfriendly scourges, stores now routinely charge customers for the evil — yet handy — vessels.

So, along with many other shopaholics, I’ve taken to carrying a collapsible bag with me wherever I go.

Okay, not everywhere. I didn’t have it on my most recent trip to Winners, and I was all ready to spring for the sad plastic sack when I spotted another option.

For $1.49, you could buy a reusable … and very stylish … bag and donate to The Canadian Women’s Foundation at the same time. (Other options were a “re-heatable” (!?!) teddy bear for $16.99, boxed gift candles for $4.99.)

So, no big surprise, that’s what I did. (And I’ve never had so many compliments on a $1.49 purchase!)

Here’s what I found out about this commendable organization:

According to their website, the Canadian Women’s Foundation (CWF) is Canada’s only national public foundation dedicated to improving the lives of women and girls.

CWF raises money to fund, research and share the best approaches to:

  • Ending violence against women
  • Moving low-income women out of poverty
  • Empowering girls with confidence, courage and critical thinking skills

Here’s one of their inspirational success stories:

Montana

Ten-year-old Montana knew she loved math, science and helping others, but was so painfully shy she found it difficult to speak even in front of family and friends.

Through a program funded by the Canadian Women’s Foundation, Montana participated in fun, hands-on activities that built her confidence and her interest in science, math, and technology. Montana also learned to relate to people with an openness that helped her break out of her shell. With her new-found confidence Montana also discovered a new dream: she wants to become a veterinarian.

Montana’s mom had this to say: “I went to the girls’ presentation on one of their projects, and there’s my daughter standing up, speaking in front of a room full of strangers… She’s really a new person, I can’t describe it any other way.”

P.S. Happy, Happy Thanksgiving to all those south of the 49th parallel!

P.P.S. And to celebrate the special occasion, a special mother-and-son duet. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 485: Winners circle

  1. Hi, sorry for my absence. But i can see you were having a splendid time without me stalking you through. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

