Day 501: Mustang Sally Ann

The Salvation Army peeps are on to something with that bell they ring … you can hear it a mile a way and it does sound like Christmastime. The Sally Ann do wonderful work for the needy and disadvantaged and I was happy to add to their kettle today … next time I might ask if I can give that bell a ring myself!

I read this story on the lovely helpothers.org website and it reminded me that accepting a kindness can be just as important as giving one. Thought I’d share it with you. Enjoy!

Accepting a blessing and passing it on
— by smiletoday

Last Sunday, a woman told me that she felt led to give me $20.  She wanted me to use the money for whatever I needed.  I tried not to take it, but she insisted and so I took it and thanked her.  I didn’t need the money, but I knew there must be a reason for her giving it to me.

The next day, Monday, I went to work.  A different woman was walking by the store I worked at.  She was limping, and didn’t look to be very well.  I knew her and called out, asking her how she was doing.

She responded with her sad situation.  Her husband had died recently, she had to quit her job because of her health, and on top of that, she wasn’t drawing her disability benefits as yet.  I told her the story about the $20, and asked her if she would accept it.  She tried not to take it, just as I had done, but finally I got her to take it.  Before she went on her way, she let me know that she really needed the money, and she thanked me.

The lesson I learned was:  don’t pass up someone trying to give you a blessing because there just might be a reason for it.  Just accept it and pass it on!

P.S. Here’s Mustang Sally … without the Ann. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

