Day 504: Cheeky monkey

"Can I get fries with that?"

This picture pretty much sums up how I was feeling today… actually, I didn’t look this perky. But somehow I managed to muster up enough energy to feed a rescued primate.

How, you ask? Well, I didn’t hop on a plane for the Congo, in case you were wondering — but I did drag my coughing, hacking self over to my computer keyboard.

I visited the Care2 website, where there are a number of different causes you can support with just one click. The advertisers that sponsor the site send a cash donation for every visit.

I chose the “Feed Rescued Primates” button that supports the Jane Goodall Institute. Why? I’d love to tell you it’s because I’ve researched the issue in depth or that I’m Jane’s third cousin once removed on my mother’s side.

The truth is, the picture of the chimp on their homepage is really cute.

So I clicked away to try and give at least one of the little guys a hearty meal. (What do you think? Banana splits all around?)

Once I did, a nice little thank you message popped up informing me that, “So far, 286,483 people have fed rescued primates 13,991,052 times.”

That’s a lot of bananas….

Jane’s Monkey Business
Here’s what I found out about the Jane Goodall Institute (from their website):

The Jane Goodall Institute has created three sanctuaries in Africa (Congo and Uganda) housing more than 200 orphaned chimpanzees in total. These sanctuaries provide a safe refuge where chimpanzees can be cared for and given the chance to live reasonably full lives in spacious conditions.

The commercial hunting of bushmeat in central Africa could lead to the loss of several special, including chimpanzees and gorillas. The Jane Goodall Institute recognizes the immediate need to protect the victims of the illegal bushmeat trade.

The goal of JGI’s Africa programs is to ensure the long-term protection of wild ape populations and their habitat in natural host countries in Africa, while preserving biodiversity, cultural traditions and livelihoods.

P.S. A real cheeky monkey. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 504: Cheeky monkey

  1. I always felt that the man with the yellow hat never put George in a position to win…”George, here’s a $100 bill, now go buy 1 dozen donuts” is a pretty complex instruction set for a primate, so why does he get mad when George comes back with 100 dozen donuts?

    The man with the yellow hat is an enabler.

  2. Michael, you are so right, the yellow hat should have been a tip off!

Leave a Reply

