Day 506: Take a letter

Today, my husband brought home an old tin trunk that had belonged to his father. In it were letters written by his grandfather and great-grandfather, some dating back to the turn of the century.

Holding the yellowed pages and reading the graceful loop of the handwriting made me nostalgic for the old-fashioned days of sealing a letter in an envelope and posting it in the mailbox.

Email and texts just don’t have the same heart and soul about them, somehow.

So I dusted off my pen and collection of stamps and sat down and wrote a faraway friend a letter. Maybe it’ll end up in someone’s tin trunk someday.

If they can read my handwriting, that is….

P.S. Here are The Box Tops. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 506: Take a letter

  1. Elaine

    Please please do write to me as I love to hear from old friends…..and many years ago you told me that you still liked the old hand written letters.

  2. Excellent – glad seeing those old letters inspired a little letter writing of your own!

Leave a Reply

