Day 508: Hats off to you

Saw a lovely good deed in action today. I was sitting waiting very patiently in my doctor’s waiting room for about an hour (my good deed, you might say) when I saw an elderly lady with snowy white hair wearing a brown wool coat shuffle her way out of the clinic, leaning on her cane.

A couple of minutes later, I saw her appear outside the glass door and then come back in, something hanging from the end of her cane, which she held up like a sword. It was a toque. She told the receptionist that she saw someone drop their hat as they rushed inside, so she brought the toque in to return it. The receptionist told her she’d keep it at the desk and try to reunite it with its owner.

I couldn’t stop thinking of that white-haired lady the rest of the day. Walking was not easy for her and she could have easily just kept going or asked a passerby to bring in the hat. But no. She took the time and effort to help someone else … someone who may never know what she’d done for them.

It brought to mind a quote from author Henry James:

“Three things in human life are important: the first is to be kind; the second is to be kind; and the third is to be kind.”

And, of course, the fourth is to be kind to hats ….

P.S. Our newest member of the Order of Canada. Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 508: Hats off to you

  1. I’m in the U.S. over the holidays, they have lots of retail Starbucks in stores like Target and Barnes & Noble, where they don’t accept Starbucks cards as payment. In line at Barnes & Noble, the cashier refused a Starbucks card as payment for a teenager’s order, so I paid for the drink (Vanilla Bean – I used to drink those too!). He thanked me six times, his mom thanked me three times, and he gave me his Starbucks card which apparently had a $5 balance. So, for one good deed and $4.68 I got back six thank you’s and $5. The system works!

    • Wow, Michael, you are a GDAD superstar! (Although making a profit isn’t usually part of the deal, lol.) That was so very kind of you, I’m not surprised you got 9 thank yous … make it an even 10 — thank you!

  2. Simply beautiful!

    This I would call as “Everday Greatness”

    Love & Peace,
    Palani

Leave a Reply

