Day 524: Shoe Drive for Haiti, Part 2

Forced myself to part with this pair. *sniff*

Today, two Bible passages popped into my head simultaneously … (guess my brain’s in stereo) …
(1) Ask and ye shall receive; and (2) Be careful what you wish for.

Actually not 100% sure that second one’s from the Bible … could be Bart Simpson.

Anyway, yesterday I sent out an email at the office mentioning I was dropping off some shoes at the SoftMoc Shoe Drive for Haiti, and offered to bring anyone else’s along with me.

Eighty (yes, 80) pairs of footwear later, I needed to enlist the help of two coworkers to shift the shoe avalanche that arrived at my desk to the drop-off location. A generous bunch, my colleagues, I was truly touched.

A really big shoe

Turns out, in one week, SoftMoc stores across Canada collected more than 60,000 pairs to send to Haiti.

They will continue to accept small donations (of 1 to 5 pairs) until January 29, 2010. (*cough*hint*cough*)

All these shoes will be shipped to Haiti through a partnership with a Nashville-based non-profit group called Soles4Souls.

Since 2005, Soles4Souls has given away over 5.5 million pairs of new and gently worn shoes to needy people in more than 125 countries, including Kenya, Thailand, Nepal and the U.S.

And now they also have my pink Keds, black flip-flops, double-lace runners, blue flats, and my husband’s brown Oxford lace-ups.

Now I just have to resist the urge to go shopping for more ….

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 524: Shoe Drive for Haiti, Part 2

  1. Wow – what great response!! Good for you, GDAD, for doing this good deed.

Leave a Reply

