Day 538: Falling slowly

So much for karma.

All that goodwill on the transit system I’ve been trying to spread by practically hugging my driver each morning? I ran for the bus today, got my hopes up ‘cause he looked like he was waiting there, then I got to the doors and, SLAM … the doors shut (I swear I felt a whoosh of air on my nose) and off he went.

It took every ounce of strength to give him the benefit of the doubt and think maybe he didn’t see me… almost there….

Then, rushing to meet a friend for lunch, I tripped and fell on the flagstone steps of the entrance to the restaurant. As I lay there feeling humiliated, dreading the crowd that would inevitably rush over from the busy sidewalk to help me up, I suddenly realized I was all alone. Nobody. Even. Noticed.

But then, when I got back to the office with my bloody knee and bruised pride, there was an envelope waiting for me. It was one of the sweetest things I’ve ever received. A note from a former coworker that mentioned something random I’d done (no, not just as a “good deed” btw 🙂 ) and thanking me for “seeing” her.

And it hit me … that’s the best good deed of all, isn’t it? Really “seeing” someone. Not just when they’re running for the bus or have fallen on their … assets … but every day in small simple ways … so I’ll try to do that more … and watch my step, while I’m at it….

P.S. Here’s “Falling Slowly” … love this movie & song! … enjoy!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Day 538: Falling slowly

  1. Brenda

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about what is going on in your life. I really enjoy getting your blog.

    I have a curvature in my spine and get off balance easy & fall sometimes, well really to much. When it happens in public no one seems notice or even ask if I need help.

    I guess that is good & bad. It’s always embarrassing so kinda glad people don’t seem to notice…..but then it worries you if you were hurt & no one seems to care to check on you.

  2. Elaine

    I am sure that the bus driver should thank you for giving him/her the opportunity to feel superior and in control whilst having the pleasure of totally winding you up.

    Are you concerned that you see her but others do not?

    Hope the knees gets better.

  3. Elaine

    I forgot to say Happy Birthday and may good returns on the day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have been thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

