Day 548: Lost and found

I learned a valuable lesson this week. I’ve often found items in my travels (a stray hat, glove, button) and am never sure if it’s more helpful to just leave them where they are, in case the person returns, or to move them to a more visible spot.

I was getting out of my seat on a crowded streetcar, when a lady in front of me bent down to pick up something on the floor. I thought maybe she’d dropped something. She picked up a small pouch that I hadn’t even noticed was lying there.

Before you could say “Lost & Found,” she held it up over her head and said, loudly, “EXCUSE ME! DID SOMEONE DROP THIS? DID SOMEONE DROP A SMALL WALLET?”

Everyone around me shook their heads but then a man further up the car recognized the pouch, broke out in a smile and raised his hand, claiming it.

Wow, I thought, now I know what to do. I will keep you posted and let you know if it works for me.

P.S. Here’s “Losing My Religion.” Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 548: Lost and found

  1. I am very happy to read about that lady…and very happy that you got inspired by her, waiting for your next posts dear, like a hungry dog…saliva drooping.

    – Sifar Anel

  2. Yan

    Reading your posts reminds me of the fact that there are many small things that can make a difference, but I failed to notice them. I enjoy reading your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

