Day 550: Hat’s off to spring!

Portrait of Emperor Sigismund of Luxembourg by Pisanello (c. 1433). Who knew earflap hats were so retro?

The downside of the strange … okay, fantastic … weather we’ve been having lately, is that I’m never sure where to find Mr. Singh, my Outreach Connection (“Helping the Homeless and Unemployed”) newspaper person.

The last two weeks, I’ve trekked over to his “winter” location, indoors in the lobby of a nearby office building, but he was nowhere to be found. Today, the sun was shining and the temps rocketed up to double digits, so I took a chance and went straight for his spring/summer season spot outside the subway exit. Bingo!

I was very happy to see his earflap-hatted head and stack of papers. He broke out in a big smile when I approached (can’t beat that for customer service), his steel-trap memory kicked in and he promptly reached into his bicycle basket and pulled out the back issues I’d missed.

Hope you’re in a Notable Quotable mood today, because I’ve got some catching up to do:

I’m a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work, the more I have of it.
Thomas Jefferson

Sports do not build character. They reveal it.
Heywood Broun

The reason we all like to think so well of others is that we are all afraid for ourselves. The basis of optimism is sheer terror.
Oscar Wilde

And, finally, Ann Landers offers this sage advice:

Don’t accept your dog’s admiration as condlusive evidence that you are wonderful.

P.S. Love this song. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

