Day 556: Spongebob surprise

"Moss always points to civilization." -- Spongebob Squarepants

Today, I found myself standing in front of a row of coin-operated toy dispensers (you know, the ones where you turn the crank and a plastic bubble containing a little robot or doll or Cracker Jack ring pops out) yesterday.

I was trying to decide which dispenser to slip some coins into (so the next kid who happened by would get a free toy).

My choices were a Transformers-ish robot-themed dispenser, the Care Bears, My Little Pony or Spongebob Squarepants. He had me at “Sponge.”

I used to watch the show with my niece and was pleasantly surprised at how funny and clever it was. Who knew an absorbent yellow dude in square trousers could be so endearing?

So Spongebob it was. I carefully placed my coins in the slot so the next person would find them.

Now, some might assume that person would be a child, but I know better. As Spongebob’s friend, Squidward, would say, “You can’t fool me, I listen to Public Radio” ….

P.S. Here’s the man in yellow himself. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 556: Spongebob surprise

  1. That’s awesome. I’m going to do that.

    I love Spongebob, he really teaches kids a positive value set, he’s hard working, dedicated, a good friend, always positive, spongelike.

    Spongebob is highly underrated.

Leave a Reply

