Day 559: Lost horizons

It’s been a rough week, folks. Too much to do but not enough time to do it. You know. The usual.

In fact, I’ve been running on empty to the point where I turned the kettle on this afternoon, then proceeded to make my tea from the hot water spout on the coffee machine. It’s a very good thing I’m not a brain surgeon.

Fortunately, I did have the presence of mind to remember I needed to get my passport renewed. On the way into the passport office, I noticed a middle-aged lady looking flustered and in a rush. So I let her ahead of me in line and she thanked me. Luckily, the staff there were more on the ball than I’ve been lately, and I was in and out of there in 15 minutes. Really.

Funnily enough, I ran into the flustered woman again, outside the building, and she stopped to ask me the way to the Eaton’s Centre. She said she was from out of town and had no idea which way to go. Now, we stood just a few blocks away from the place, but I made sure I thought about it a minute before directing her. (My track record with directions is summed up by the title of that TV show with the Island and the Dharma Initiative.)

Turned out, that was just a dry run for later in the day, when a touristy looking guy (he was actually wearing a Hawaiian shirt … in Toronto) asked me how to get to Gretzky’s bar/restaurant. I pointed out he was just a half a block away and then he asked if I knew where “the famous Italian restaurant” was.

“Do you know the name?” I asked.

“No,” he said. “But it’s the one that’s won a bunch of awards.” He paused and stared at me expectantly. “You know, it’s supposed to be one of the Top 10 Italian restaurants in North America.”

My real good deed for today was refraining from blasting back, “Who do I look like? Ms. Michelin Guide???”

Instead, I politely suggested an excellent Italian place right beside Gretzky’s. “I don’t know if it’s the one you’re looking for,” I said, “but I’ve eaten there myself and it’s very good.”

Two accurate —  and polite — sets of directions in one day … hmm, maybe I’ll give that tea another try ….

P.S. A great song from Toronto band Crush Luther. Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 559: Lost horizons

  1. Haha gave me some laughs…
    Brain surgeon…Ms Michelin Guide…
    and yes the TV show with the Island and the Dharma Initiative… I did not know the name.. I searched in google…LOST. hehehe

    Tonight I plan to spend the early night staring at the starry sky, lets see if it works out. Cheers bubble bee..

  2. After I got home on Friday, I made hot chocolate, and put the tin of chocolate powder away – in the fridge…

Leave a Reply

