Day 561: The White stuff

“I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority.”
E.B. White (1899-1985)

Ah, E.B. White. One of my very favourite writers. The quote above is Mr. Singh’s Notable Quotable for this week’s issue of Outreach Connection (the “Helping the Homeless and the Unemployed” newspaper).

When I found Mr. Singh this crisp morning outside the subway station, I was happy to see him sitting on a folding chair while selling his newspapers. “My hip’s been bothering me,” he explained.

I was happier still to see E.B. White’s quotation. The former New Yorker humourist wrote two of my favourite books of all time: Charlotte’s Web and The Elements of Style (William Strunk, Jr., was the original Elements of Style author but White edited and updated the writer’s style guide so thoroughly after Strunk’s death that the slim volume is now commonly known as “Strunk & White”).

Here are other quotable quotes from E.B. White:

  • “Always be on the lookout for the presence of wonder.”
  • “You have been my friend. That in itself is a tremendous thing. I wove my webs for you because I liked you. After all, what’s a life, anyway? We’re born, we live a little while, we die. A spider’s life can’t help being something of a mess, with all this trapping and eating flies. By helping you, perhaps I was trying to lift up my life a trifle. Heaven knows anyone’s life can stand a little of that.”
    (Charlotte’s Web)
  • “One of the most time-consuming things is to have an enemy.”
  • “Be obscure clearly.”
  • “All that I hope to say in books, all that I ever hope to say, is that I love the world.”
  • “I see nothing in space as promising as the view from a Ferris wheel.”

P.S. A little movie Charlotte and Wilbur. Enjoy!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Day 561: The White stuff

  1. From the quotes I say, that this White is indeed a writer who leads us into an enlightening realm.

    surrendering to nature(existence) is such a joy….and working out as it works us out…is just a miracle, a wonder filled circus…

    this surrender has stopped my insomnia and all the hiccups in my life.

    Thanks for reminding humble honey bee.

    Collecting honey are you not!

  2. I had something on “Charlotte’s Web” that was really funny and satirical, but now I can’t remember what it is.

  3. Nope, and it’s been three days…hmmm…am I losing my edge? (check, check)…phew! Still got it!

Leave a Reply

