Day 567: The “I” factor

I was tired and grouchy when the charity telemarketer called, I was seconds away from barking, “Sorry, I can’t help you,” but the girl calling sounded like a student on her first job.

Her small voice shook with a nervous tremor, and she brought the end of each sentence up into a question mark.

The cause was a good one (aren’t they all?), a Canadian National Institute of the Blind children’s program, but mostly it was sympathy for the young woman making cold call after cold call that dissolved my resolve to hang up.

I couldn’t afford the monthly amount she was requesting but I agreed to contribute what I could. She almost seemed surprised (my initial crabby hello probably did it!) … especially when I thanked her for calling and wished her a nice day.

The iFactor
You may have heard of the U.K. television show The X Factor — turns out the CNIB is running a music competition called The iFactor to “search for the next Canadian superstar.” What a cool idea! Here’s what I found out on their website:

Warm up your vocal chords and tune your guitars, because the search begins on May 3, 2010. Canadians, ages 16 and above, with vision loss can enter for a chance to win a trip to Lake Joe and participate in four days worth of training, compete in a live semi-final at Lake Joe vying for a spot in the spectacular live finale of The i Factor in Toronto.

If musical talent doesn’t run in your veins, make sure to check back often starting June 1 and vote for your favourite contestant.

Photo of Terry Kelly

The Grand Prize

The grand prize winner will earn an experience of a life-time, including a trip for two to a city in Canada (to be determined at a later date) and will perform as the opening act for award-winning, Juno nominee, singer-songwriter, Terry Kelly.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 567: The “I” factor

  1. I’m yes to everything on donation requests, they don’t catch me on the phone at all, but at the door they have a 100% closing ratio over the past few years.

Leave a Reply

