Day 568: Lungs of steel

"I wanted ORGANIC risotto!!!!"

I witnessed a classic tantrum today in a clothing store. Not simple whining or crying, this was a full-out, ear-piercing, leg-thrashing, face-so-red-it-could-explode meltdown. And yes, it was the child, not the parent.

The kid was about three and I’m not sure what he wanted but he sure wasn’t getting it. The poor mom was doing her best under the circumstances but I felt for her as every eye turned to stare her and her hysterical devil child.

Don’t get me wrong, I found myself doing the same at first — I mean, it was better than cable TV, but in a small effort to do the kind thing, I pretended I hadn’t noticed and went on my merry way.

So when I came across this list of ideas for good deeds from a class of kids on the website kidsturncentral.com, I had to smile. When they’re not throwing tantrums in stores, they can come up with some darn good ideas! Enjoy!

Good Deed Ideas From Kids

  • I walk my neighbour’s dog every day because she is getting too old to do it. – NorthGal
  • Rake leaves for your neighbours. – Austin
  • Take care of your dog. – Austin
  • Help your grandmother do stuff. – Austin
  • Clean the house when your parents are out. – Sam
  • Make parents breakfast in bed. – Sam
  • Open car doors for people. – Ari
  • Fix dinner, dust, wash dishes, clean the cat litter box, polish shoes, fill the sugar bowl. – Ari
  • Help someone with their bags off the bus. – Sam
  • Donate to a food bank. – Ari
  • Put the toilet seat down. – Ari
  • Tidy shelves in a supermarket. – Sam
  • Hold door open for people. – Maggie
  • I like talking to people and especially with new kids at my school I loooove hangin out and getting to know them so they wont feel shy about makin new friends. Or, just talkin to someone who looks lonely. – Cheesedude
  • When my mom or pa are having a long day I make dinner and look after my younger brother. – Cheesedude
  • If you’re a bigger kid just help out some of the little guys. – Cheesedude
  • My last one is just a random act of kindness (washing someone’s car, raking leaves, or just carrying groceries) goes a long way.  Cheesedude
  • At grocery stores and places I have interpreted for deaf people. – Bee
  • Paying someone’s bus fare when they can’t. – Maggie
  • Send little cards/e-mails to your parents at work just to tell them you love em.  – Jenn
  • Standing up for someone older on the bus. – Maggie
  • Wake up early some morning and make breakfast.  – Jenn
  • (WAY too over looked) If you see trash PICK it up! even if it is not yours. – Jenn
  • If there is stuff on the floor PICK it up! Parents clean up after you all your life you can pick up after them too. – Jenn
  • If a classroom is really messed up start picking it up without the teacher asking. – Jenn
  • If a friend looks sad give em a nice warm hugg (with two g’s). – Jenn
  • Say Hi to random people you don’t know and try to brighten their day. – Jenn
  • SMILE!! – Jenn

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 568: Lungs of steel

  1. Brenda

    My son was a horrible little boy at times throwing tantrums. He’d throw himself down on the floor in front of me. I finally decided not to ignore him during the tantrums. When he would throw himself down to the floor kicking & screaming, I’d go to another room, he follow me & throw himself down again. I would pretend I didn’t hear him, leave the room, usually by the third or forth time ignoring him or stepping over him, he’d just give up & sulk for awhile….my Mommy doesn’t care about me…..LOL. It is so stressful when your kid does these things especially in public when they can’t have their way.

  2. We have our methods around dealing with toddler meltdowns in stores, it happens from time to time.

    When it happens to other people, I totally empathize and mind my own business, like nothing is happening, to support their plight. Maybe even shoot the hysterical toddler a smile, like everything is going to be okay.

    I really think we need to support parents in public places in these situations, even non-verbally and through body language, as they happen regardless of how good a parent you are.

Leave a Reply

