Day 569: Like a spirit of the purest beauty

"Vase of Sunflowers" by — no, not Van Gogh — Henri Matisse.

I was able to double-dip my good deeds today. (I love when that happens.) I stopped to sign a local environmental petition to encourage more local Ontario plantings and got a package of sunflower seeds as a thank you. (The planting kind, not the snack — a vital piece of info for my good deed to make any sense.)

Now, I love sunflowers. There’s something about the way they’re impossibly tall and out of proportion with everything else in the garden that makes me smile every time I see them. Oh, and the way they turn their “face” to the sun. Makes me want to give them each names.

But as much as I would have loved to plant these seeds in my garden, it occurred to me that I knew someone who (a) has a greener thumb than I do, so (b) will actually get them to grow. That person is one of my neighbours. She’s a lovely lady in her 70s who’s been an indispensable source of gardening advice and tips and cuttings ever since we moved in. It’s hard to give her gifts though, she always shakes her head as though you shouldn’t have … except she really means it.

So instead of giving her the chance to wave me off with a “No, no, no, you plant!” I tucked the package anonymously in her big barrel planter that’s filled with last year’s soil but little else. Waiting for this year’s new seedlings.

She should find them soon, so long as there aren’t any high winds this evening … or hungry raccoons that read “Sunflower Seeds” on the package and think it is the snack….

P.S. Lovely song called “Sunflowers” from the Everything is Illuminated soundtrack.

The lyrics are lines from an Alexander Pushkin poem called “To A.P. Kern.” in English:
In the torture of hopeless melancholy,
In the bustle of the world’s noisy hours,
That voice rang out so tenderly,
I dreamed of that lovely face of yours.
That voice rang out so tenderly,
I dreamed of that lovely face of yours.
Then to my soul an awakening came,
And there again your face appeared,
Like a vision, fleeting, momentary,
Like a spirit of the purest beauty.
Like a spirit of the purest beauty.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 569: Like a spirit of the purest beauty

  1. I double dipped the other day, funny too because I let somebody in ahead of me when driving, was actually thinking, I wonder if the good deed a day lady would consider that a good deed? Settled on yes. Then three minutes later I found myself letting the same vehicle in ahead of me down the road.

Leave a Reply

