Day 576: Click power

I have a confession to make. I found some cool sites where simple clicks of a mouse will raise funds for some great causes, but it’s actually been a while since I took a virtual “stroll” down my own blogroll.

So today I did just that. I visited the sites for literacy, funding mammograms and stopping hunger and clicked away for charity.

Each cause is supported by advertisers who donate money each time a visitor clicks on the site.

GoodSearch.com is sort of a good deed version of Google, where Internet searches yield donations to charity.

If you hear of any others, please let me know.

I also wanted to share a good turn that was done on my behalf today. You know how you can never find a public washroom when you really need one? Well, I thought I’d found one today and even though there was a lineup outside the door, I didn’t mind waiting … until the wait went on for about 10 minutes.

Then, just when the final person in line ahead of me went in, a kind woman came up and told me where I could find another ladies’ room. She could have just walked by and continued on with her day. But no, she took the time to tell me where to go … so to speak.

P.S. This vid has no picture but the song is beautiful. Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 576: Click power

  1. Brenda

    Hi Deb
    Speaking of needing restrooms….I got a new iPhone & some of the “apps” available is to help locate a nearby public restroom…..

    “Sit or Squat”
    &
    “have2p”

    Thanks for sharing those “click” fund raisers with us again.

    Brenda
    Northern California

  2. Deb you are so silly! Just ask! Some people (like me) really like the aisle seat. Worse they can say is no. Stop being so Canadian (overpolite).

    They were selling big bags of candy (well, small ziplock bags but full) of delicious looking candy at Costco on the weekend for $2 a bag in support of the local children’s hospital. I didn’t really want the candy so I bought it and donated it back. Thought about that candy for a bit after.

    Then at work on Monday someone else must have been to Costco because voila, there was the same bag of candy. I ignored it for the first day, but on the second day I was in there like a dirty shirt and polished the last of it off today, like a kid on Halloween.

    So I guess that candy found it’s way back to me or something!

    • Yes, that Canadian polite thing is a curse, isn’t it? (Sorry if I offended any Canadians by saying that. 🙂 )

      I personally find candy easy to ignore. But chocolate? All bets are off.

Leave a Reply

