Day 577: Open door policy

Holding doors open seemed to be the theme for today. It’s funny. Once you hold one open, I find you get on a roll. Next thing you know, you feel strange going through a door, looking behind you and there’s no one there to hold it open for.

I was leaving one store and out of the corner of my eye I spotted the wheels of a stroller behind me. So I held the door, looked up and instead of a young mom, it was a big burly tattooed guy wearing a Harley Davidson tank top. I hoped he hadn’t notice how startled I looked, but his little smile told me otherwise.

The favour was returned a little later when I had to run for the elevator but the person inside pushed the open-door button for me. He looked about 9 or 10, which helped restore my faith in today’s youth.

Knock knock

I love pretty much everything about doors. Decorative painted ones like the yellow portal above, antique door knockers that come in all shapes and sizes and … of course … knock knock jokes. Here are a few groaners:

Knock, Knock Who’s there? Wevill. Wevill who?
We vill we vill Rock you.

Knock, Knock Who’s there? Delores. Delores who?
Delores my shepherd.

Knock, Knock Who’s there? A little old lady. A little old lady who?
I didn’t know you could yodel.

And my all-time fave:

Knock Knock Who’s there? KGB! KGB wh– (SLAP!) WE will ask the questions!!!

P.S. A friend sent me a link to this hilarious guy’s songs (I had never heard of him before). Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

