Day 584: Bench press

I left my office building after dark the other night and when I opened the back door, I saw an unexpected sight.

There’s a bench out back for smokers or workers to sit on but it’s usually empty. Instead, I found a homeless man stretched out across the bench, camped out for the night. Beside him was a crumpled paper bag of his belongings.

I don’t think he expected anyone to be coming through the door at that hour so I probably startled him more than he startled me.

I couldn’t stop thinking about him all the next day though. How tough it must be to find a safe, quiet place to get some rest if you don’t have a home.

As I walked to the office this morning, he crossed my mind again and I wondered if I should have left him something. Some money or a coffee. It looked as though he didn’t want to be disturbed though. Then, just as I turned a corner there was a student giving out sample granola bars, along with a promo flyer.

That’s it! I thought. I’ll leave it for the bench guy. So that’s what I did. I waited till the end of the day, then I tucked it into the corner of one side of the bench.

I hope he finds it.

P.S. Here’s a lovely song about friends by Rosie Thomas. Enjoy!

P.P.S. Bench image from HERE.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

