Day 588: Map quest

I waved at a double-decker tour bus today. Not the bus exactly, but the tourists riding up top. It always feels strange to me to see a tour bus in my own city. Don’t get me wrong, I love this town, but whenever I see a busload of tourists I think, “Really? This is your vacation spot?”

It must be a popular one lately because just a block away from the tour bus, I saw three people huddled together over a map. They were all in their twenties – two young women and a guy –  wearing shorts and T-shirts. They definitely looked lost.

So, without thinking, I walked right over and asked if they needed any help.

No sooner were those words out of my mouth than I regretted saying them. I am the one who usually needs a map. Even in my hometown.

They asked if I knew how to get to the Hard Rock Café.

I sighed with relief because I was 100% sure I knew that one.  I told them where it was, then as I walked away, doubt started to creep in.

When I got back to my computer, I double-checked the address. My heart sank. Not only had I been wrong, but I pointed those poor people in the exact opposite direction of where they needed to go.

I hope they weren’t on the Amazing Race….

Some fascinating Toronto facts

  • Toronto is Canada’s largest city and home to over 5 million people.
  • The name “Toronto” is derived from the Huron word for “fishing weir”
  • Toronto was settled by the Huron people over 200 years ago.
  • Toronto’s Yonge Street is recognized by the Guinness Book of World Records as the longest street in the world. It starts at Lake Ontario and runs north through central and northern Ontario to the Ontario/Minnesota border — a distance of over 1,896 kilometres (1,178 miles).
  • Canada has the tallest freestanding structure in the world.  Completed in 1975, the CN Tower stands 1,815-feet and five inches tall.
  • 60% of Americans live within a 90-minute flight radius of Toronto.
  • The Italian population of Toronto is the largest Italian population anywhere in the world outside of Italy.
  • Toronto has more golf courses per capita than any city in North America.
  • Visitors are advised to bring their own maps as Toronto residents can not be trusted to give accurate directions.*

* Okay, I made that last one up.

P.S. This is in honour of Memorial Day today in the U.S. Enjoy!

P.P.S. Cartoon from: HERE. Video from: HERE. Trivia source: Wikipedia & Tips about Toronto.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 588: Map quest

  1. I spent a bunch of time in Toronto last summer and loved it! So many crazy stores on Queens especially, if you need a tuxedo for your dog…they have a store for that!

Leave a Reply

