Day 591: Penny from heaven

As you may have guessed, I’m not much of a planner when it comes to good deeds. (Okay, not true, sometimes I am organized enough to plan something but, um, not today.)

I did pick up a penny today out of habit, then remembered I’d been trying to resist that urge. Why? To let someone else experience the thrill that only finding a shiny copper coin on the sidewalk can bring. But instead of dropping it straight away, I carried it over to a newspaper box and left it on top. I figured (a) someone could still “find” it and (b) they wouldn’t have to bend down so low and risk putting their back out for one measly penny.

That didn’t seem like quite enough, however, so when I spotted some discarded coffee cups *cough*TimHortons*cough* and other papers on the subway, I gathered them up and tossed them in the bin when I left the train.

Again, that still didn’t seem like such a big deal, so when I saw this story on the great helpothers.org site, I knew what I had to do …. Part 2 to follow tomorrow. (I do love mini-series!)

A Profound Urge to Do Something Outrageously Kind
by AshleyMarie
“Yesterday, I wasn’t having the greatest day. I lost my wallet, and luckily I found it, but the whole mishap messed up the rest of my day. In the evening, I was reading stories on My Life is Average, and then switched to Gives Me Hope. Reading about so many positive experiences and contributions to society from so many different people made me feel very cheerful.

“After reading, I was getting ready for bed in an altogether happy mood, and as I was getting out of the shower, I had a wonderful idea. I had this profoud urge to do something outrageously nice for someone whom I don’t feel like I’ve ever done anything explicitly nice, my mother.

“That’s not to say that I don’t love her and tell her as such, but doing the little acts of kindness, those usually escape me. And it’s not just me that forgets to do these kinds of things for her, either. My dad doesn’t usually buy her flowers (he’s gotten better lately… a little), and he never buys her jewelry or anything. And it’s not like she’s ever said that she cares, but she’s a woman, of course she does.

“So, late last night, I ordered flowers to be sent to my mother. Never before have I felt so cheerful and excited to see someone’s reaction. The flowers should arrive at her house any time now, and I just can’t wait for the text message she’ll send me after she gets over the shock that I sent her flowers. I love her so much.”

P.S. A lovely song that Works for Me. Enjoy!

P.P.S. Cartoon from HERE, and video from thop1984 from HERE

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

