Day 594: Blues day

I always forget how a simple smile can brighten someone’s day until I end up on the receiving end. And yes, as corny as it sounds, one little smile really can turn your frown upside down.

I was reminded of this … again … when I approached a busker in the subway today. He was a tall lanky guy bent over his electric guitar lost in his music.

His grey fedora hid his face so when I tossed in my coins and thanked him for his music, it took me off guard when he looked up with a huge smile and said, “Thank you, have a great day.”

He said it so warmly, it really did change my mood (which thanks to the muggy grey sky and the crush of people on the train was pretty crabby).

Before I walked on, I noticed a little handwritten sign in his guitar case. It read: “Keep the blues alive.”

That made me smile too. Listening to blues music actually cheers me up. I don’t know if it’s the sheer pleasure of wallowing in self-pity or because identifying with the songwriter/storyteller makes you feel less alone in your own personal “blue period,” but it never fails to make me feel better.

To quote Elton John/Bernie Taupin: “… it feels so good to hurt so bad /And suffer just enough to sing the blues”….

P.S. Here’s Sir Elton live. Enjoy!

P.P.S. Picasso cartoon from HERE. Video from HERE.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 594: Blues day

  1. Katherine: What About Summer?

    you are consistently so great at blogging; I always enjoy reading. great thoughts
    Katherine

Leave a Reply

