Day 605: Market forces

"Sunflowers 2" (encaustic beeswax painting). Copyright 2009 Jan Blencowe, Connecticut, USA

The picture at the top of this page is probably a tip off that I like sunflowers. And I found out today that I’m far from being the only one.

I spotted some tall gangly fresh ones for sale at a downtown farmer’s market today at lunch hour and bought six to take back to the office.

A coworker was off today after getting into a minor car collision yesterday so I thought I’d leave a few on her desk for when she got back.

But since they were the first things I bought, I ended up carrying them around the market like a wedding bouquet. And they are so huge, you can’t exactly tuck them in your handbag (they’re a little freakish, aren’t they? In a good way, of course.)

I paraded around with my loud yellow arrangement while I checked out the beautiful fruits and vegetables, bought a couple of other things and then stood in line for lunch at the Burrito Brothers stall.

Every time I turned around, someone took one look at the humongous sunny flowers and their faces lit up.

“Oh my, aren’t they beautiful?” said my Burrito Brothers cashier.

“Are those sunflowers? They’re so pretty,” said the butter tart lady.

Then when I got back to the office, a colleague saw them and said, “Ah, just looking at them makes me smile.”

So there you go….

P.S. These were the performers at Metro Square today … Toronto’s Supernaturalz crew. I couldn’t stop smiling watching them. Amazing. Enjoy!

P.P.S. Supernaturalz vid from HERE. Image of Jan Blencowe painting from HERE.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 605: Market forces

  1. Anonymous

    The great thing abt sunflowers are that they always face the sunshine, and never see the shadows

Leave a Reply

