Day 607: Service with a smile

Isn't this beautiful?

You’d think being Ms. GDAD and all I’d be broke from giving my money to every panhandler I pass. Nope. Not in the summer anyway.

The winter’s a different story. If your “job” involves standing outside all day in the freezing cold soliciting money then I’d say you’ve earned it. But today I saw a summertime approach that I couldn’t refuse.

Even though the young guy was sitting in a nice shady spot across from a Caribbean music festival, I did put some coins in his hat all because of a sign he held up.

It read, “Ha ha, made you look! … Can you spare some change?”

Pretty much anything done with humour will win me over and he did. I gave him the change and wished him a nice day and he said, “You too, eh!” … So I did.

Bike stand bandit

I saw this letter in my local paper and it warmed my heart (and gave me a great idea for tomorrow! 🙂 ):

“Walking along Charles St., I saw a young man stop at each of the post bike stands to pick up any bikes that had fallen over. Initially I assumed someone’s bike was blocking his, but after putting each bike upright, he continued walking.

“It was a small gesture, but his act of kindness for unknown bikers is not something I’ve witnessed very often on the busy streets of Toronto.”
Heather, Toronto

P.S. Bike photo from HERE.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

