Day 618: Happy World Humanitarian Day!

Isn't this the coolest picture ever? (Photo: FABRIZIO BENSCH/REUTERS: Co-owner Christian Petersen looks out of a window of his bicycle shop in Altlandsberg, north-east of Berlin. The owners attached about 120 bicycles on the facade to promote their shop.)

Success! Someone asked me for directions today and I actually pointed them the right way! … I know, hard to believe.

Of course, the two ladies who stopped me wanted to get to Lake Ontario … if I’d gotten that wrong, well, I think that’s grounds for deportation.

I asked them if there was anywhere in particular along the lakefront they wanted to go (not that I could have directed them, but just thought I’d check), but no. They just wanted to see the lake.

They did ask if was within walking distance and I said, oh sure, 10 minutes tops. I tried to give them the most direct route but when I walked away I started second-guessing my 10-minute estimate. One of the women was in her sixties and I pictured her getting half-way there, huffing and puffing and cursing my name.

Let’s hope she’s a senior triathlete, shall we?

I also wandered over to the downtown farmer’s market at lunch, and was planning to give away a few more sunflowers. But just as I got to the market, the sky clouded over, a gale-force wind almost blew me over and it started pouring. So no, no random acts of flower giving for me today.

I did, however, hold open a door for a pregnant lady pushing a toddler in stroller. She exhaled one of those deep sighs with her thank you that let me know she was tired and really appreciated it… either that or she was just really tired period.

I will leave you with this quote I read in my newspaper this morning. I think it’s quite beautiful, I hope you do, too.

“To be nobody-but-myself — in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you like everybody else — means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight, and never stop fighting.”

– e.e. cummings (1894 – 1962)

P.S. I had the great pleasure to be in Northern Ontario this weekend and to sing this song with a dear friend as he played guitar. Enjoy!

P.P.S. Cool bicycle shop photo from HERE. Video from HERE.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

