Day 621: Elevator goes up

Holding the elevator for someone can be a tricky business.

First of all, sometimes you’re walking along on autopilot (and by “you,” I mean “me”) and the elevator doors start to close before you snap out of it and press the “Open” button for the person rushing towards you yelling, “Wait!!!”

Never happens to you? Okey dokey.

Well, I unfortunately have done that more times than I can count, so today I decided to end the madness and pay attention and hold open any and all elevator doors that I could, in order to wait for others to join me.

I’m happy to say I was able to provide this simple service four times today. Two of those cases were relatively straightforward with me only having to pause slightly and place my hand over the door edge to keep it open while the next person caught up.

Then at lunch, I delayed pressing the button because I knew someone else was on their way. Unfortunately, I sort of forgot I was delaying on purpose and it ended up just looking as though I’d forgotten to push the button. Oh well.

The fourth time was a little awkward because I had to hold the “Open” button for a while and sort of nod to the stranger at the far end of the lobby to let them know that I was indeed waiting for them. But they did seem happy I’d waited and thanked me, which helped me feel a whole lot less awkward.

Especially for the long ride up eight floors….

P.S. Speaking of Elevators, here’s my new favourite song. Enjoy!

P.P.S. Cartoon from HERE. Video from HERE.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

