Day 626: The search goes on

Jason Hackenwerth balloon sculpture. (I will resist suggesting he's full of hot air... oops.)

This past week there have been a number of worthy causes that I felt I needed to donate to. So I figured I’d hold off on any other charitable gifts until I could afford to give more.

But then I got a call from the Missing Children Society of Canada. Normally, you can tell that the person on the other end of the phone is just reading from a script, but this one didn’t.

I don’t know if it was the tremor in her voice or the soft way she thanked me for supporting them in the past, but I got the feeling that maybe this cause was very personal to her. She gave me some encouraging statistics of the missing children they’ve been able to locate this year and so, guess what. Yup. Made another small donation.

But that’s it for now. No, really….

Everyday Hero

I read this little story in my local paper and it warmed my heart. I hope it does yours.

“I was working a gig at a mall a few weekends ago that required many hours of standing and talking non-stop. I talked to these two young boys (early teens, my guess) who had balloon swords and the like with them. I chatted with them for a bit and after a few minutes they walked off, presumably back to their shopping.

“Around half an hour later, while I was resting my feet for a few minutes, they came back and gave me a balloon flower, one that I had said I wanted to get during my break. It was such a small thing to do, but it just made my whole day, and brought a huge smile to my face.

“Thank you so much for putting the sunshine back into my otherwise dreary and exhausting job.”
Karen, Toronto

P.S. Two great songstresses. Enjoy!

P.P.S. Balloon sculpture pic from HERE. Vid from HERE.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

