Day 628: Somewhere over the cookies

I found myself in the bakery section of the supermarket at lunch hour. Not sure how I got there, I’d only gone in to buy yogurt.

But there I stood, staring at shelf upon shelf of freshly baked cookies. And the only packages they had were enormous, could’ve fed a family of four. The only way I could really justify getting so many cookies, were if I shared them.

So that’s what I did. (Oh the lengths we’ll go for a white chocolate chunk macadamia nut morsel.)

I bought the giant container of cookies, brought them back to the office and left them in the staff kitchen for all to share.

What I planned to do was go back to the kitchen at the end of the day and make sure any left over were packaged up and put away. Hah. Not a crumb.

Never underestimate the power of a freshly baked cookie….

Stand Up 2 Cancer

Tonight was the Stand Up 2 Cancer telethon, and the whole time I watched, I couldn’t help but think of all the people I’ve known, both family and friends who’ve been touched by — or lost to — that cruel disease. I’m sure everyone watching felt the same way. My donation wasn’t a big one, but I wanted to help in any way I could. Here’s the team I donated to (it’s the one in the top spot).

More about SU2C, according to the Stand Up To Cancer website:

  • SU2C’s unique funding model, developed with the help of prominent cancer researchers, encourages collaboration and innovation through two new types of scientific grant.
  • Dream Team grants are awarded to multi-institutional groups of scientists who work collaboratively, rather than competitively, to develop new treatments quickly in order to save lives now.
  • Innovative Research Grants support groundbreaking cancer research projects that are high-risk but could also be high-impact, and have the potential to significantly affect patient care.

P.S. Here’s a song from a gifted musician whose life was cut short by cancer.

P.P.S. SU2C logo from HERE. Video from HERE.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

