Day 651: Choose kindness

This will never not be funny (click 2 enlarge).

I know most people make a list of resolutions for the new year but for the past couple of years, I’ve just tried to come up with sort of a “motto” to keep in mind to carry me through the year.

Last year it was “go with the flow.” The year before, it was “don’t do anything you don’t want to do” (believe it or not, that one was surprisingly effective! 🙂 ).

This year, I’m going with “choose kindness.”

Why not “be kind” or “do good deeds,” you ask? Well, because the more I thought about it, the more I realized being kind is a choice we can make every day, throughout the day. Before we take action on something, respond to an email, or even the way we choose to greet a stranger.

And since I can be a self-absorbed, cranky-pants much of the time, I know I need to consciously decide to “choose kindness” over, say, being snarky, letting the door slam on the person behind me, or taking the last cookie in the box.

These two little words have already helped me a lot. Just today, I was waiting in line at the store and someone rushed in front of me and right up to the cashier. I could’ve caused a fuss and pointed out that I was officially next in the queue but I caught myself  and kept quiet. Especially since the person was in a rush and I wasn’t, and I could tell they didn’t realize what they’d done (and no, it wasn’t ‘cuz they looked like Dog the Bounty Hunter.)

You may now be wondering, “If a good deed is done in a store line up and there’s no one there to acknowledge it, did it really happen?”

That, my friends, is a question I’ll leave to you! 🙂 Have a great day!

P.S. Song for the day, Jason Mraz’s awesome new single, “I Won’t Give Up.” Enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 651: Choose kindness

  1. animalover19

    What a beautiful motto! Mind if I use it too? 🙂 I’d also just like to say, I started my blog a few days ago to document 365 random acts of kindness and it seems as though you did (and are still doing!) a similar thing.

    Beautiful song as well.

Leave a Reply

