Day 676: Not-so-random acts of kindness

Credit: Thomas Hawk (click pic 4 source).

When I started this blog, I vowed to only write about good deeds done for complete strangers (based on the premise that kindness should come with the territory for friends and family).

While I still believe that’s true, I’ve come to realize that being kind to friends and family sometimes takes even more effort. ๐Ÿ™‚

Because they’re part of your life, it’s all too easy to take them for granted.

Recently, because of a more-hectic-than-usual schedule and sleep deprivation … sure, I’ll blame that … I’ve found myself doing just that. Taking my nearest and dearest for granted. And I’m not feeling very good about it.

So as well as trying to get enough sleep to prevent me becoming crankier than I normally am, I plan to make a real effort to be just as thoughtful, or even more so, to my family, friends and colleagues as I have been trying to be with complete strangers. Radical notion, I know.

It’s not as easy as it sounds, at least not for me. But dang it, I’m going to try my best.

Will keep you posted. ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S. Song for today … enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 676: Not-so-random acts of kindness

  1. I really don’t think I would qualify you as “cranky” ever but whateves ๐Ÿ˜›

    Haha but I know what you meanโ€ฆ I am sometimes not the nicest to some of the people I am closest with. I decided a couple months ago to make a conscious effort to be more patient with my 14yo brother, because I sometimes get a little annoyed at him. But I have to keep reminding myself that he’s just 14 and I have to be patient. Hard sometimes though!

  2. Elaine

    Yes it does happen and sometimes far too often, but family and friends do understand…hope tha autumn is cooler than the summer and you can take time to unwind and rest.

  3. Hi. I just started a similar blog & am looking for like-minded blogs to follow, glad I came across yours. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

