Day 682: London calling

ImageA dear friend of mine who lives in London, England, told me about a good deed she was able to do with her family recently, and just had to share:

Walking along the waterfront by Strand on the Green near Kew, the tide had not come in yet and my husband and son spotted school books on the river bank. I struggled down some rickety slippery steps and eventually my son came  to help.

We gathered up lots of books, house keys, a calculator and art work for a boy in Grade 8.

We found a name and school diary but no other details.

I phoned the school on Monday and they were shocked… 10 minutes later, the [people who lost all the items ] rang me and came over that night in horrible traffic. They brought me a £15.00 bouquet of flowers.

Turns out, the dad’s car had been broken into and all they took was the boy’s backpack and chucked his work on the river bank.

Apparently the boy was devastated that his art work had been stolen. I was happy to return it to him. It was lucky I had a plastic bag in my pocket to pick up everything, even though it was hard work to get down the steps to the river and there was a lot of mud.

And here’s another story that a Mr. Leonel Ingram left in the comments. Thanks, Leonel!

Two weeks ago while I was out for a 5 mile run on a busy street in my neighborhood, I saw another runner coming at me approximately 75 feet ahead. While I was running facing the traffic, she was running with the flow of traffic.

In my 3 years of running I have always run against the flow of traffic – the reason, I want to see the driver, just in case the driver does not see me; at least this gives me the opportunity to jump out of the way. As fate would have it, a car coming at a fairly high rate of speed for a residential street, was making a bee-line right for the other runner.

I was screaming at her to jump the curb. Thankfully she did and avoided getting hit, but the driver had no clue what could have happened, she was too busy on her cell phone and was not paying attention. Let me tell you, there were two runners quite shaken up. She picked herself up and I picked up my heart.

While I spent the better part of the next 3 miles thinking, I realized I have made many mistakes while running on the roads and thought I would share a few tips to make us all safer runners and walkers.

Gotta love happy endings!

P.S. Song for the day, Churchill’s “Change” … enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

