Day 690: By the book

510cd0w1aULOur company is sponsoring two needy families for Christmas this year and we were all sent the first names, ages and interests of all the family members so that we could give them something they need or want for Christmas.

Both families asked for grocery store gift cards as a possible gift and since food is always near the top of my priority list πŸ™‚ that’s what I gave them.

But when I looked over the descriptions of the other family members, one stopped me in my tracks.

“Son, 11 years old. He absolutely loves books.”

How often do you hear that, these days?

Reading helped me through an often lonely childhood and I still love to read. I know how much books can enrich your life so I was determined to also get some books for this little guy. But which one?

My own favourites from that age were well… girly… Charlotte’s Web, The Secret Garden, the Narnia series.

So I polled my friends on Twitter for suggestions on what an 11-year-old boy might like to read and got some great tips. From The Hobbit to The Hunger Games. I found one of the suggestions — The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart — in my local bookstore (not just an urban myth, after all!).

They had Part 1 and a Part 2 so of course I had to get them both. Here’s what it says on the back of the book:

“Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?”
When this peculiar ad appears in the newspaper, dozens of children enroll to take a series of mysterious, mind-bending tests. (And you, dear readers, can test your wits right alongside them.) But in the end just four very special children will succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and resourceful children could complete. With their newfound friendship at stake, will they be able to pass the most important test of all?
Welcome to the Mysterious Benedict Society.

eek, now I want to read it!

P.S. Happy Holidays!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Day 690: By the book

  1. Pastel

    Sounds like an amazing book! Or series of books. I’ll bet it will be one of those gifts he will remember many many years from now. You are making a memory πŸ™‚

  2. Sounds like such a great series of books for that boy, great choice! It’s so nice to help out families in need. The video posted just adds to the spirit of the holidays, right from the heart and so beautiful. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

