Day 695: Sonnets by Kids for Valentine’s Day

11863201-valentine-tree-with-hearts-leaves-and-birds

Click 4 source.

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

To me, this day isn’t just about romantic love for your sweetheart (although that’s important too)… it’s also about letting your nearest and dearest know how much you care about them. Especially those who are on their own.

So when I heard about this great program on CBC radio this morning called “Sonnets by Kids for Valentine’s Day,” I knew I had to send one to my brother, because (a) it would confuse the heck out of him; (b) I love Shakespeare and I hope he does too; and (c) I do want to let him know I’m thinking about him.

On Valentine’s Day, for just $25 (which supports Shakespeare in Action’s educational programs), a lovely Shakespeare Kid volunteer (age 7 to 12) will call your Valentine person and recite the sonnet of your choice (either 18, 24, 29 or 116). They’ll also mail a copy of the sonnet to them.

Awesome idea, right?!

Here’s a video of the Shakespeare Kids in Action:

Here’s the sonnet I sent, more here:

sonnet29

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Day 695: Sonnets by Kids for Valentine’s Day

  1. Pastel

    This is so cool. Wonderful gift. I would love to have a convo with the kids after tho, and find out what they love about the sonnet. Tx for sharing.

Leave a Reply

