Day 719: Matthew’s Legacy


Read this incredible story today and wanted to share. An Ontario mom in California, Jamie-Lynn Knighten, was touched by the kindness of a stranger, Matthew Jackson, 28, who paid her $200 grocery bill when her cards wouldn’t work, only saying “I would be glad to take care of your groceries as long as you promise to do it for someone else.”

When she tried to get in touch with Matthew at his work later in the week, she found out he’d passed away in a car accident the night after they’d met.

On her FB page, she says:

“His boss explained to me how amazing this young man was in his every day life and that what he did for me was just who he was as a person.

“I still cannot believe it. I thought for sure I would get the chance to see him again, give him a hug and thank him at least once more in person. Now I won’t get that chance, but more importantly no one else will get the chance to meet him. And that breaks my heart.”

Her post went viral and now a “Matthew’s Legacy” page has been set up for strangers to share their random and not-so-random acts of kindness in honour of Matthew:

“We are hoping to use this page as a vessel for positive change in the world.. We want to inspire kindness and spark hope.. Share love and restore faith in humanity.. Regardless of age, race, religious affiliations, financial or social status, our goals stay the same.”

This post I found especially moving:

ATM_12310424_170007526686280_4131940412986659051_n

My good deeds today are small potatoes (smiling at strangers, holding doors open), but this inspires me to try and do more… even when it’s cold and grey and I’m tired and grouchy and actually feel like just growling at everyone. 🙂

p.s.
Song for the day… enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

