Day 730: Fort McMurray fire

Screen Shot 2016-05-04 at 1.21.45 PM.png

I am terrified of fire. Maybe because I started one in our family kitchen when I was in Grade 8. Making donuts.

When I was running around screaming “I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO DO!!!” my little brother calmly and wisely said, “Call the fire department.”

The Fort McMurray fire is on a scale I can’t even imagine. I’ve made a donation to the Red Cross relief fund. Wish I could do more.

Acc. to this Globe & Mail article, here are ways to help:

  • Money: Click here to donate to the Red Cross. You can also donate by texting “REDCROSS” to 30333.
  • Supplies: Here’s a crowdsourced Facebook page to connect Fort McMurray residents needing items with volunteers providing them.
  • Volunteers: Those interested in volunteering through the regional municipality can apply here.

For ways to get help, click here.

Praying they can stop it soon and that no one gets hurt.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Day 730: Fort McMurray fire

  1. peppertara

    Such a scary and horrible situation in Fort McMurray. I hope they can get this under control, will need a lot of help and yes, there are ways to help. Thanks for sharing this in your post and for all the links. Have given to the Red Cross too, they do a lot.
    I was in Fort McMurray once in the summer time. Lots of beautiful forests around and now…..it’s all ablaze. May the people (and animals) be safe and get all the help they need to rebuild. Bless the firefighters and all those who are doing their best to stop this massive fire.
    Thanks for your post on this.

Leave a Reply

