Day 732: Love matters

textlovequotemusicquotesbeatles-8bdafe6d1cc4e8b3aca1e302b0344fdd_hThis past year has seen some dark times on the world stage, making it hard not to get fearful or depressed.

In fact, an old friend of mine gave me a call about that on the eve of the U.S. election last week. He suffers from schizophrenia and obsessive compulsive disorder, among other ailments and, beyond that, is an artist and songwriter who is very sensitive to sensationalized news reports about world events or natural disasters.

He’d been following reports of the election and was greatly disturbed by the bullying demeanor of one of the candidates and was terrified that this person would be voted in.

I always try to be honest with my friend, not just because it’s the right thing to do but also because he has a keen sense of when someone’s not being completely honest. So I told him that he should try to relax and calm down because there was no chance of this person winning the election. I wasn’t lying, I really believed that at the time.

So, naturally, when this person won, I felt terrible that I’d mislead my friend, who had counted on me to be the voice of reason.

We’ve talked since, and he’s come to terms with things, and I’ve realized that it wasn’t the content of what I told him that was important but mostly that I answered his call at all (he said he’d been calling everyone on his contacts list that day and I’m the only one who answered).

Now, if he’d called me 10 minutes later, I might’ve been in the middle of something and not answered so I feel grateful that I did that time, that I was able to be there for him.

And that’s my hope… that we don’t let fear win. That in these small and simple ways, we can continue to be there for one another and fight fear with love. Always with love.

Thanks for listening.

p.s.

Speaking of love… love this!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 732: Love matters

  1. Thanks so much for sharing this…so glad you could be there for your friend. That really is what it is all about, being able to show the love when some one needs it.

Leave a Reply

