Day 1: Welcome!

“You must be the change if you wish to see it in the world.”
Ghandi

You may think performing one good deed a day is easy. Not so much for me. I’m pretty good at being nice to family and friends, but strangers? They terrify me. The one time I stopped to help a blind lady across the street, I was so focused on the path ahead of me that I walked the woman straight into a trash can.

So going into this, I know it won’t be easy. Let’s just say I ain’t Oprah. My “Big Give” is usually to myself — but I’m trying to change that, one small gesture at a time. I’m hoping others will join me on this endeavour and let me know any random acts of kindness you’ve tried or have been offered to you.

Day 1

I lucked out today. I needed to take the bus and subway downtown. LOTS of opportunities for good deeds on public transit, people. This required a real attitude-shift for me, however, as I normally face the prospect of commuting by making a concerted effort to avoid eye contact – or any contact – with anyone.

Doing a good deed would involve looking directly at people and paying attention in case someone needed any help. Yikes! I think I freaked a few people out today when they caught me looking at them.

“Relax,” I wanted to tell them, “I’m not about to pick your pocket, I’m just new at this!”

This trip allowed me to do two nice things, however. A seat came available right beside me and I awkwardly motioned for a grey-haired lady to sit down. It was a bit of a challenge to get her attention since she was also a pro in the art of avoiding eye contact, but eventually the message was conveyed and she thanked me.

This “good deed” didn’t feel like such a big deal until about 10 stops later when my arm started to cramp from hanging on to the overhead bar. Told you this wasn’t going to be easy for me!

4 thoughts on “Day 1: Welcome!

  1. Doing a good deed a day is such a good idea! I always think I should start doing nicer things for people but I always end up forgetting because I’m too wrapped up in my own life to even consider improving someone elses. This idea is very inspiring, perhaps I will hop on the wagon and give this a whirl. I’ll keep you posted!
    -Melissa

    Like

  2. Hi
    I subscribed about a month or so ago to your blog & enjoying getting everyday.
    I have been intending to go back & read from the beginning of your Good Deed A Day adventures.
    Thank you so much for sharing. Always look forward to your daily blog in my email each morning.
    Sincerely
    Brenda
    Northern California

    Like

  3. I have noticed you don’t monetize your website, don’t waste your
    traffic, you can earn extra bucks every month because you’ve got
    hi quality content. If you want to know how to make
    extra money, search for: best adsense alternative Wrastain’s tools

    Like

Comments are closed.